Swearing-in of first Lt. Governor of Ladakh

    Publish Date: October 31, 2019
    LG swearing-in

    Shri Radha Krishna Mathur today assumed the charge as the 1st Lieutenant Governor of newly formed Union Territory of Ladakh.

    Hon’ble The Chief Justice of Jammu & Kashmir, Ms. Geeta Mittal administered the oath of office and secrecy to Mathur at Sindhu Sanskriti Kendra, Leh.

    Commissioner Secretary, Rigzin Samphel read out his warrant of appointment issued by the Hon’ble President of India Shri Ram Nath Kovind.

    After the abrogation of Article 370 and article 35 A in the state of J&K, both Ladakh and Jammu & Kashmir were declared Union Territories by centre government on August 5, 2019. It was a historic moment for the entire Ladakh to witness the first ever LG taking oath to serve the newly created Union Territory of Ladakh.

    Mathur is a retired 1977 batch IAS officer of Tripura cadre. He retired as the Chief Information Commissioner of India (CIC) in November 2018. He has served as the India’s Defence Secretary, Defence Production Secretary, Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises Secretary of Government of India and the Chief Secretary of Tripura.

    CEC, LAHDC, Leh Shri Gyal P. Wangyal, CEC, LAHDC, Kargil Shri Feroz Ahmad Khan, Dy. Chairman LAHDC, Leh Shri Tsering Sandup, Executive Councilors from Leh and Kargil LAHDC, Religious, Political and Social heads were present on the occasion. Senior officers from Administration, Judiciary, Army and Para-military forces were also present to witness the oath ceremony.